International Advisory Board

Our International Advisory Board ensures that our work is of an internationally competitive standard and at the leading edge of health data science.  It is chaired by Dr Amy Abernethy and reports to the Executive Committee.

Our International Advisory Board is drawn from across continents and sectors. It plays a critical role in ensuring scientific and technical excellence and relevance, identifying and recommending emerging challenges and opportunities, and advising on ways in which Health Data Research UK’s international reputation can be built and upheld. The Board is chaired by Amy Abernethy, meets twice a year and advises Health Data Research UK Director, Professor Andrew Morris.

Public Advisory Board

The remit of our Public Advisory Board is guide us and ensure that our work is driven by delivering benefits to patients and the public. It is Chaired by Angela Coulter.

Aisling Burnand

We are deeply saddened by the passing of Aisling Burnand on 19 September 2022 who has been a valued member of the HDR UK Public Advisory Board. Aisling’s passion, drive and determination to ensure patients and the public were not only heard but central to ways of working across research have meant she will leave a long-lasting legacy on the approach we take at HDR UK as well as the many other organisations she supported both in her professional and voluntary commitments. Aisling’s kind-hearted, open and honest approach and real dedication to help all those she worked with is just one of the many things we will remember her by as she was a highly respected friend and colleague who will be missed by all across the HDR UK community.

The infrastructure Advisory Group (IAG)

The aim of the Health Data Research Innovation Gateway (The Gateway) is to transform the experience of health data researchers, so that data is used to enable discoveries that transform people’s lives. The infrastructure advisory group (IAG) provides strategic advice to Health Data Research UK and the UK Health Data Research Alliance to guide the development of the Gateway.

Members of the infrastructure advisory group (IAG) not listed above:

Nicholas Timpson
Mishal Patel
Giovanni Charles
Vibhor Gupta
Derek Stewart
Suzy Gallier
David Leather
Steve Wreyford-Hind